What a turkey!

(This snippet originally appeared on Spanking Romance Reviews as part of Celeste Jones’ Writing Prompt Wednesday. Please do not read if you have not finished Lighting the Way, as it contains spoilers.)

 

Natalie rolls her eyes. “Kat, we are not getting a bigger bird this year!”

She thinks she’s the smart one in this relationship? She may be boss of the house and of me, but I’m the boss of Thanksgiving dinner. I pick up a spatula and point it at her. “When should we tell her?”

Halfway to snatching the weapon, Natalie pauses. Her eyes flick toward the completed application on our kitchen counter. “Why not now?”

I pull the spatula back and flip through my battered cookbook. I lick my lips with a suddenly dry tongue. “Maybe I’ll put raisins in the stuffing this time,” I offer. “Your dad would like it.”

“Stop changing the subject.” Her hand slides down my back to grip the belt loops of my jeans, and my knees grow rubbery.
I turn the page, pretending to ignore her. “Look, if we get a bigger turkey, I can make more stuffing.” It’s her favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal, more than the turkey or pie.

Ordinarily, she would argue about poundage and leftovers and her dislike of the yearly parade of turkey soup, tetrazzini, and sandwiches. This time, she takes the book away from me. “Why not tell our parents we’ll give them a grandchild?”

My stomach flip-flops. I whisper, “Because no one will pick me to adopt.”

Swat! I yelp as the spatula lands across the back of my jeans, and Natalie hugs me tight. “What a turkey,” she says affectionately. “Of course they will.”

2 thoughts on “What a turkey!

  1. catrouble says:

    Very cute snippet! 😉

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

  2. Katie says:

    Loved this! 🙂 Good grief!! Hide the spatulas, Kat! They are evil… Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

Leave a Reply

